When I Let Myself Fall

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Blog Challenge Day 1 post http://suitcaseentrepreneur.com/10-day-blog-challenge/10dbc-day-1

Day 1 – Finding Your Focus

I began to notice I was surrounded with meaningless things. And that I had created all these ‘things’ to fill an internal void or emptiness inside me. All this of these things I had forced or created in my life stemmed from emptiness inside, societal programming, and disempowering thoughts which in turn were steering the course of my life. Through the process of undoing all these ‘things’, I am shifting from a predetermined programmed life to a life that my heart and soul are longing for. Going through the physical, mental and spiritual shifts are uncomfortable and quite overwhelming at times, but I feel I am strong enough to endure it all (or am I?).

I left my 9-5 job and the comfort of my home and loved ones for a one way plane ticket to Peru. These changes brought me face to face with deeply personal issues that have been gnawing at me, waiting just under the surface for quite some time. I am now observant to where my attention goes in the form of thoughts, wants and desires (a.k.a energy leaks) and what I now give meaning and attention to in my life. I also continue to release imaginary attachments I once held to people, places and things.

I’d like to share a popular quote I found true for me, “Don’t let the things you own end up owning you.” So for me, letting things go was easy peasy. Hell, I have a clear path in mind, right?! And yet, attachment still remains. I am in pursuit of learning true freedom, loving without conditions and continuously feeding this fire that burns fiercely inside.

There are times I feel overwhelmed with so much abundance and I am simply overflowing with such gratitude that I spontaneously burst out into tears of joy and laughter. Then, there are times I feel I cannot take another step. I am drowning in the changes. I just want to throw in the towel, go back to the old me, comfortable, oblivious and disconnected. I know big change can be difficult and sometimes it takes all I have to just show up in life. My truest supporter, and the one who is most affected by these changes, often reminds me that I am not alone in this and helps me to refocus on my purpose and why I need to keep moving forward.

 

Here is a link to my website to read more about emotional release and healing after trauma

 

Leave a Reply

