Answer The Call

Day 6 Challenge: Find 1 or 2 people who are living the kind of life you want to live, and whose tribe you’d love to be part of. Then write a short post about why you find them inspiring and the one question you would ask them if you met in real life.

Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 6

I was wandering around this tiny town in Peru when I walked past two of the same stores side by side. I turned around to go into the first one to ask if they could make me a copy of this key. Why it felt so urgent to turn around and do this, I had no idea. It was if someone grabbed me by the shoulders and said, “this one!” I’ve experienced enough synchronistic events in my life that now I just go with it. There’s always something really great that comes from these experiences.

In my broken Spanish, I asked the man behind the counter if he could make me a copy of this key. He said, “no (and a bunch of Spanish I didn’t know) about twenty meters up this road you can get copies.” He then offered to take it for me. He asked me something else and his words lost me but I could feel what he was asking. I could also feel his sincerity and the genuine strength coming through his eyes. I thought, there’s something really different about this man. We exchanged numbers and I was kicking myself because I am dedicated to time away from all social activity and the influence of society to tune into my own needs. “Well there, it’s done,” I said to myself, ” I don’t have to answer the call.”

I answered the call. I began to realize, this man is a living example of what I had been seeking. He is living by ancient native traditions here in Peru and he noticed something in me as well. Despite our language barrier, he is teaching me simply by allowing me to join or observe him. It’s fine tuning all the little details I had been lacking that are so important. I have so many questions but I see that simply observing him will be the best form of learning.

There is also a medicine woman I met here in Peru a few months ago. I was taken back by her shear power as a woman and only standing 4’8 with a tobacco pipe in one hand and a giant condor feather in the other. This woman radiates strength and power from the inside out. She and I are now living in the same tiny town and I would like to connect with her soon. Perhaps we can chat over a coca tea and I can ask if  she offer can offer me one bit of advice that will nurture my own personal power. Next, I would like to ask if there is a time I can assist her or observe some of her daily practices.

I am in the perfect place right now that provides me with the people, the tools and the support that make up ‘my tribe.’

blog-challenge-badge-12

Leave a Reply

